Page tree

Host controls allow you as the host to control various aspects of the Zoom Meeting, such as managing the participants.

The co-host feature allows the host to share hosting privileges with another user, allowing the co-host to manage the administrative side of the meeting, such as managing participants or starting/stopping the recording. The host must assign a co-host. There is no limitation on the number of co-hosts you can have in a meeting or webinar.

The host controls will appear at the bottom of your screen if you are not currently screen sharing.



Mute/Unmute: This allows you to mute or unmute your microphone.

    • Audio Controls (click next to Mute/Unmute): The audio controls allow you to change the microphone and speaker that Zoom is currently using on your computer, leave computer audio, and access the full audio options in the Zoom settings.


Start/Stop Video: This allows you to start or stop your own video.

    • Video controls (click ^ next to Start/Stop Video): If you have multiple cameras on your computer, you can select which Zoom is using, access the full video controls, and select a Virtual Background.


Invite: Invite others to join your meeting.


Manage Participants: Opens the Participants window.


Share Screen: Start sharing your screen. You will be able to select the desktop or application you want to share. When you are screen sharing, the controls will appear at the top of your screen, but you can drag it to another location. 

Screen Share: controls (click ^ next to Share Screen): Select who can share in your meeting and if you want only the host or any participant to be able to start a new share when someone is sharing.



Chat: Access the chat window to chat with the participants.


Record: Start or stop a cloud or local recording.


Breakout Rooms (only available to the host): Start breakout rooms.


Reactions: Meeting participants can now react during a meeting by sending a thumbs up or clapping to communicate without interrupting the meeting. Reactions will disappear after 5 seconds.


End Meeting (only available to the host): This will end the meeting for all participants. If you want to have the meeting continue, you should give another participant host control before leaving the meeting.